JMabey

Hoping for more sunny weather… ’cause it’s hard to buy a coat in SJ right now

In Uncategorized on August 12, 2009 at 3:16 pm

hoodie

I’m enjoying the warm sunny weather that we’ve had in the past few weeks and hope it continues until more fall styles hit the SJ stores.  On our way home from NY last month the zipper broke on my red rain jacket.  It wasn’t surprising, this was the outer liner of a 3 in 1 jacket that I had bought last fall for winter/spring wear.  When we got home I looked at the jacket and decided it was time to get a new one.  I’ve been looking for a new lightweight coat since July 5th.  Now mind you, being a plus size girl I know I’ve got limited options in SJ.  Penningtons and Addition-elle had coats on sale but they were all very heavy, bulky winter coats.  Winners, Reitmans, Walmart, Sears, and Zellers were no better: I found short track jackets that felt like I was wearing a garbage bag, long coats with quilted trim that made me look 20 years older and fleece hoodies.  I even looked at sporting good stores, but found nothing in my size.  Thank goodness for my other 3 in 1 winter coat that I “found” last week while cleaning out our spare bedroom, I now have something to wear when the rains start again.

  1. I find coats are always impossible anyway. I think they always look funny on me because I have no torso. The longs ones are always too long and the sort ones make me look like a melon. Need to move to a warmer climate.

  2. It’s very difficult to find a lightweight coat for non-plus size in SJ too. Especially for folks our age, who are between the youth stores and the more, um, matronly stores.

    I wish Joe Fresh was in plus sizes for you, but I understand they’re not always the best for petites.

  3. I agree with you Al on the melon look, I think tailoring is the best solution if the warmer climate thing doesn’t work out 😛

    It’s funny Mare, I was looking on the Joe Fresh website today for examples for another post I’m working on. They do have a generous size range (very similar to Old Navy sizes) and I am thankful for the handbags, shoes and jewelry I’ve found there.

  4. I’ve had a lot of luck with Joe Fresh, as you know. My only complaint is that they tend to do a 3/4 sleeve a fair bit in their outerwear. Who wants a coat with a 3/4 sleeve? Seriously, it’s impractical.

Leave a Reply

