JMabey

The ruffle shirt

In Trends on September 1, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Ruffles were very big in the early to mid 90s.  gr11Here I am with my bff Alison, who is sporting the big white ruffle way back in Sept 1993.  I also had a green silk shirt with ruffle collar that I wore all the time.

This fall, the ruffled shirt is all the rage.  I think it is important before you run out and grab one that you consider your body type to help determine how much of a ruffle you want and where you’d like the ruffle to be.

The following are some of the current ruffle offerings from j. crew, old navy and lane bryant:

r5r6r7r8pr4r9r10

I don’t really get the burgundy shoulder ruffle and the off white ruffles on the tummy look funny to me.

Smaller frame girls can work the tuxedo style chest ruffles.

A ruffle on the hem of the shirt can help create the illusion of a curvier figure for those who don’t have a defined waist.

As an apple shaped plus size girl, I’m tempted to try the last one, but I know in the end I should stick with subtle ruffle details like on the peach t shirt or green cardigan.

  1. I am definitely NOT plotting my revenge right no… no sir… definitely not. Besides… I was just ahead of my time 😛 I can’t say I’m a huge fan of the ruffle although I don’t mind it on a skirt or a subtle ruffle on a top. I’m definitely not a full-frontal ruffle girl 🙂

  2. I dislike ruffles a lot and I dislike that they are back in style. That said, if you are going to go ruffly, I recommend doing it in an understated way. As M and I looked through the plethora of ruffled shirts available in the many malls/stores we went to, the thing that stuck out to me was that a ruffle can accentuate (understated) and add some visual interest, or it was the only thing going for the shirt or ensemble being worn (not understated). Way, way too many of the shirts were over-the-top and there was no way of getting around the ruffle; it was all you could see and it wouldn’t matter what pants/skirt you were wearing, or that your shoes looked nice, or that you had nice eyes, etc., no one could see past the dominance of the ruffle.

Leave a Reply

