JMabey

Shopping state side

In Fashion on September 6, 2009 at 5:29 pm

Went on an impromptu drive to Calais, Me on Sat with Mom and B.  They had both just gotten their passports in the mail and wanted to get some groceries, so we made a day out of it.  Shopping wise Calais is very hit or miss, so I was pleased with what I found.

First stop was Mardens.  It’s a surplus and salvage shop selling everything you could think of.  Stock changes quickly so their slogan sure does apply, “I should have bought it, when I saw it, at Mardens”  ( I know many of you just sang that jungle in your head 🙂  Didn’t find anything in the clothing section, they did get a big shipment of leather jackets, but the only thing in my size was a weird cape.

The shoe department was much better and I tried on over 20 pairs.   I got 2 pairs of ballet flats: red sparkles and plaid purple, burgundy and brown patents.  I also made a major score on a pair of softwalk high heel loafers.  They are very comfy and I hope I’ll be able to wear them to work.  I’ll be trying them out his week so I’ll let you know if they are indeed and all day shoe for me.

DSCN3808DSCN3809DSCN3811DSCN3810

Walmart was next and although they have not received all of their fall stock, I found 3 tops and 2 boyfriend cardigans. I had hoped to pick up one of these cardigans soon and think most of my gal friends will like this style. Its very retro, promotes comfort like a hoodie yet it is more stylish and most of all keeps you warm. These cardigans are long, have pockets and look good buttoned up or open like a jacket. I got one in chocolate brown and a mauve-pink shade. They match the bell sleeve tops I bought perfectly.

card
1
2

  1. Think I would love a sweater that you described. love the grey and red bell sleeved shirt too! My shopping days are done for a while tho with Van loosing his job. 😦 But, I will happily live vicarilously through your blog finds! LOL!!

Leave a Reply

